Air Conditioning

This is something I have to comment on because I see a correlation with age.

The air conditioning on my car went out about three weeks ago when the compressor failed. So, being the person I am, got quotes to get it fixed. I decided that it would be cheaper to just live with it not working and put that money toward a new car (mine is going on 11 years old and has 225,000 miles on it). To me, it hasn’t been a problem.

For others in the 17 to 22 year range, it has been a big problem. Several of the younger generation (including my daughter) have complained and given me comments that are funny to annoying. I often find myself wondering what the big deal is that there isn’t any air conditioning in the car. As long as the air is moving, it is very bearable and comfortable — you just can’t hear anything because of the wind from the windows being open. Some of them have even taken their own car and followed me because it had air conditioning and mine didn’t.

I also reflect on what it was like for me growing up. We didn’t have air conditioning until we moved to Washington, DC, and prior was only one window air conditioner in the main family room where everyone watched TV (if we watched TV). The rest of the house didn’t have air conditioning. On my grandparent’s farm, we still used out houses and loved to sleep outside where the air wasn’t hot and stagnant.The alternative was sleeping in the upstairs bedrooms where the heat was usually around 100 or more degrees and never moved. My other grandparents didn’t have air conditioning – if you wanted to be cool, you went to the basement. I suspect that is one of the reasons we spent our time with one of my uncles, as he had both air conditioning in his whole house and a swimming pool out back. You never got too hot at his place. Heck, even my first elementary school (Granby Elementary) didn’t have air conditioning – it was always hot and sticky and remember trying to take a nap on floor mats covered with sweat, or sticking to the plastic chairs trying to pay attention to the teacher while she talked to us or another student said something.

Today, though, many of our younger generation seem to think everyone needs air conditioning. It is a requirement. And, if they don’t get it, then they have some problems with not having it. I have to wonder if I would have been like these kids if I always had air conditioning like they have?

Leave a Reply

